Undergraduate Programmes Offered at Faculty of Agriculture in the University of Nairobi.

by Visited 739 times.

Kenya is a country that depends largely in agriculture for both food and industrial raw materials. Agriculture here in Kenya contributes to almost 80 % of the country’s economy. This ensures that the government spends a lot of money in the ordering of many fertilizers from outside countries and at the same time ensuring that there are proper equipments for storage of farmers produce. We have seen Kenya exporting flowers to outside countries such as UK everyday hence earning income.

In trying to promote agriculture in Kenya, university of Nairobi have elaborate course in agriculture that aim at developing agriculture sector to the next level in Kenya. These agriculture courses are offered in the faculty of agriculture in the University of Nairobi. This faculty has four was established in 1970 and currently has four departments:

  • Department of Economics.
  • Department of plant Science and Crop Protection.
  • Department of Land Resource Management.
  • Department of Agricultural Technology and Food Technology and Nutrition.

The total undergraduate agricultural courses offered at the faculty of agriculture are seven in number and are taught by experts in various areas of agriculture. These are the courses that form base for those who may wish to advance their careers. The courses take duration of four years and the classes are placed in Kabete campus of Nairobi University where the college of agriculture and veterinary sciences is placed. All these courses are offered on full time basis.

The undergraduate programmes offered at the faculty of agriculture in the University of Nairobi includes:

  • Bachelor of Science in Food Nutrition and Dietetics.
  • Bachelor of Science in Agricultural Education and Extension.
  • Bachelor of Science in Agribusiness Management.
  • Bachelor of Science in Management of Agro-ecosystems and Environment.
  • Bachelor of Science in Range Management.
  • Bachelor of Science in Horticulture.
  • Bachelor of Science in Food Science and Technology.

There is only one diploma course offered in the faculty of agriculture and it is diploma in crop protection.

For more information on the above mentioned courses, you can contact:

Dean, Faculty of Agriculture, university of Nairobi.

P.O. Box 30197, Nairobi, Kenya.

Telephone number: 020 2181354

Email address: deanagric@uobin.ac.ke.

Website: www.uonbi.ac.ke.


Related Topics

comments powered by Disqus