Accredited Institutions That Offer Bachelor Of Medicine And Surgery In Kenya

by Visited 4,641 times.

Medicine course is among the marketable courses in Kenya. It is the most expensive course to pursue in Kenya and the government of Kenya spends millions of money to train students in this field. Many students who finish their Kenya certificate of secondary education (KCSE) apply for the medicine course in Kenya put only few are usually considered because of the highly required cut points.

There are approximately eleven institutions (both public and private universities) that offer Bachelor of Medicine and Bachelor of Surgery in Kenya and only few offer Bachelor of Dental Surgery. These institutions are normally audited for the necessary equipments required to train medical students before they are accredited and approved to train the students. The board in Kenya that accredits and approves the institutions that offer medical courses (medicine and dental) is the Kenya Medical Practitioners and Dentist Board (KMPDB).

The KMPDB in Kenya is the board that is responsible for the training of the medical students while training and also award of license of practice to those medical students who qualify after training. Therefore, the institutions that offer Bachelor of medicine and bachelor of surgery in Kenya include:

  • University of Nairobi – this is a public university that is located in Nairobi city

  • Moi University – this is a public university and is located in Eldoret town.

  • Kenyatta University – it is a public university and is located 20 kilometers away from the Nairobi city central business district (CBD).

  • Uzima University – it is a private university in Kenya.

  • Egerton University – it is a public university and is situated in Egerton town, 18 kilometers from Nakuru town.

  • Kenya Methodist University – this is a private university located in Meru town.

  • Maseno University – it is a government university located in Maseno town.

  • Jomo Kenyatta university of Agriculture and Technology – this is a public university located in Nairobi town.

  • Mount Kenya University – it is a private university located in Thika town.

Related Topics

comments powered by Disqus